Comeauville

Comeauville is a beautiful village located between Little Brook and Saulnierville. It's name is likely linked to Francois Comeau dit "Maza" through his sons.

The original grantees of 1772 however...were from par-en-bas...from the Cap Sable area and more specifically from the Pubnico district. They were Basile Amirault dit Mirot and his brother Isidore. Along with them was Basile Boudreau.

A drive to the village wharf...then a casual walk on the shore will do wonders for anyone's spirit. The wharf you'll see is locally known as "le Quai Eudes. Years ago...around 1850... Eudes Theriault built a small wharf at this location so as to be able to tie his boat and fish the Baie. The name has continued to be use through time and today...a hundred and fifty years later...Eudes' name is still used to designate the now modern and large wharf which stands where the little one of years past was.


The old fishermen's shed still stands...
a reminder of the hard physical life of days gone by...


the boats stand rank...as if sentries of the Baie...


yet never far from their soul...la Baie Ste.-Marie...